A Bovine Breakdown


I am not weighing in this week because in all honestly I don’t want to record the massive weight gain I managed to accrue.  Valentine’s Day didn’t help but in all honesty that is not why I gained so much weight.  I had a bit of a Bovine breakdown.  A moment of who the F cares, I am just going to throw in the towel and remain a fat cow until my early demise due to heart disease and complications with diabetes.

Yup, you guessed it, I received some not so great news from the doctor.  The “you are a borderline diabetic with high cholesterol and better lose weight before you kill yourself” sort of news.   My favorite line from the nurse who had  so kindly called me to tell me the results from my blood work was, “The doctor wants you go on a low-carb, low-calorie, low-fat diet.”

Great!  Is there anything left to eat?  Sure, if I was a rabbit and not a bovine.  Moo!

I threw a bit of a tantrum (more than a bit)  and did not take care of myself at all this week.  I didn’t even look at A Course in Weightloss, I ate what I wanted and managed to make myself sick on more than one occasion.  Finally I had a bit of an epiphany.  Sadly the epiphany didn’t arrive until yesterday (after I managed to gain almost 5 pounds) but here it is:

I felt like crap for most of the week.  I was gassy, crabby, fatigued, my stomach hurt and even though I kept eating, I had a general feeling of malaise.  I felt significantly worse when I ate something full of refined sugar and/or carbs.

Wait for it…..

Perhaps these foods are having a negative effect on my blood sugar resulting in me feeling so completely awful.  (Did I just hear a D’uh?)

Yesterday, I ate exclusively chicken, veggies and fruit and for the first time all week, I felt physically okay.  Not great, still a bit tired, but a ton better.  Maybe I need to eat more like a rabbit, not because the doctor said so or because I can stave off some pretty serious health issues (those clearly aren’t enough motivation for me), but because I just don’t feel very well when I don’t.  When I feel icky it affects my mothering, my wifeying, my friendying, my housekeeping and my working….a whole bunch of  ‘ings are negatively effected when I eat like crap.   Seems like I am better at everything when I eat like a rabbit.  Moo!

I managed to forgo leftover Valentine’s dessert last night just by reminding myself how awful I felt physically when I ate it the day before.  I need to keep that feeling at the front of my mind, to constantly remind myself that how I eat no longer just affects the size of my hindquarters, it affects my entire life…..perhaps I should change the name of my blog from My Inner Bovine to My Inner Bunny.

Moo!….Hop!….Moo!

 

 

7 Comments on “A Bovine Breakdown”

  1. Teresa says:

    maybe that can be a goal, name change when the weight is off. Who knows what motivates me and others to finally lose wait.

  2. Shanny says:

    I vote for a name chg immediately. Also, glad you epiphanied on how food makes you feel physically. As obvious as it now seems, more people than not don’t make that connection.

    Hop on, my friend!

  3. Stopping by for FMM and came across this entry. The mooing and the hopping cracked me up. When I was at my heaviest and most depressed, I named the part of me that wanted to eat and spread out The Blob Girl. It seems silly now, but there are still days where I feel like The Blog Girl rears up inside me and takes over. It’s never pretty. Keep hopping, friend. I’ll check back!


Leave a Reply

