WARNING: TMI to follow


I have been doing a modified Atkins for a little over a week now.  Staying low carb but not paying too much attention to which veggies fall into the low carb category.  I figure no one got fat from eating carrots.

Today, I actually purposely added some fruit because I have been having some pretty serious potty problems.  (Don’t say I didn’t warn you)  When I say serious, I mean being so relieved to get to the nasty gas station bathroom before I crapped on myself that I wasn’t even grossed out by the stench…it was way worse when I left anyway.  I have also been having painful cramps which I think is related to the diarrhea although one doesn’t always follow the other.

I did a little research and discovered that this is not always that uncommon when in the induction phase of Atkins.  Adding a few pieces of fruit today was an experiment to see if the carbs help my bowels.  My intestines were not too happy during the day but they seemed to have calmed down a bit this evening so I am hoping I am on to something. A change from Atkins to Southbeach may be warranted.

Anyone else out there ever had these issues on low carb?

Viva La Bovine!

 

//

3 Comments on “WARNING: TMI to follow”

  1. Teresa says:

    It has been way too long since I was on atkins, but I believe that it said to take fiber with it. Please be careful with that stuff my mom almost lost part of her colon because she gave up too many carbs and wasn’t able to digest the food properly. I have that problem ever since I had my gallbladder removed. It is awful, never know when it is going to happen. I hope it gets better.

  2. The Doer says:

    I went on the Atkins diet for a few weeks years ago and had the opposite problem! I tried a fibre supplement to help regulate things. Sachets of orange-flavoured powder that you add to hot water and drink like a fruit tea… Except you have to drink it quickly, because the colder it gets, the more jellified it becomes. Blegh. I didn’t last long, although I lost a fair amount of weight. Put it all back on once I started eating toast again though…

  3. Shanny says:

    Vegetables, my friend, at every meal. Lots.


Leave a Reply

