No Milk For Me


I have given up dairy.  It has not been that hard for me but every so often something cheesy or creamy is very, very tempting.   I can’t say that it has made a huge difference.  I am not feeling much healthier, weight is not falling off my body, I don’t have some sort of milk free glow.  But nonetheless, this no dairy thing feels right.  I am less bloated and as I said yesterday I have not binged…I have overeaten a few times but that was done at meals with my family…I had an extra serving of something even though I was full.  It’s not great but it is not tragic either.

Yesterday, in my inbox was an email from the Paleo Diet folks about why avoiding dairy is a good idea.  Their reasoning makes a lot of sense.  They explain that animals only  drink milk in infancy.  Likewise hunter/gatherers only drank milk when they were babies.  Their conclusion is that our bodies just weren’t made to consume boatloads of dairy after babyhood.

I don’t know if that is true for everyone but I do think it’s true for me.   So, I am committed to staying dairy free….Now, I need to focus on getting rid of my sugar addiction…..No easy task for this bovine who has quite a sweet tooth.

My happily milk free inner bovine,

 

 

5 Comments on “No Milk For Me”

  1. I am the only sweets person in my household; I love love love anything sweet. Even so, I think giving up dairy would be harder for me than giving up sweets would be. I don’t cook(I still live with my mom), and nearly every single meal she cooks involves cheese. The ONLY thing I can think of that doesn’t contain cheese is steak.. And we usually have steak with cheesy mashed potatoes. I literally cannot imagine a life without cheese, let alone dairy. Kudos to you for being strong.

  2. Shanny says:

    Good for you for listening to YOUR body and what it’s telling you.

    The dairy thing makes sense from the Paleo argument…..infants drink mother’s milk to grow bigger very quickly…..so what would be the point in adults doing it? And another species no less?

  3. J. says:

    try other kinds of milk – soy/goat etc. The reason lactose intolerance is still common is because of the slow pace of evolution. humans have only domesticated cows for a few thousand years and not everyone has the genes to process cow milk properly yet.

  4. Shawna says:

    I found you on MBC – I’m your newest follower. Good for you for giving up the dairy – I did a few years back for a while, giving up cheese was the hardest – I feel for you. If you are interested in checking out my blog I’m at dovetailblog.com

  5. I had given up milk when I got pregnant. For some reason, now, it seems that the lactase gene is on again and I don’t have the lactose intolerance that I used to. I’m drinking buttloads of it. I love it. I love most anything dairy, really. It’s weird, though, to think that while I’m drinking milk I’m making milk…


Leave a Reply

