Tasty Tuesday – Hoppin’ John Weight Watcher’s Style


I know you are supposed to eat this New Years Day so this post is not exactly timely but I wanted to post it because it was so good, I may cook it again, even when I don’t need to be bringing us fortune in the New Year.  I cooked this recipe on New Years Day and fed it to my herd with a spiral ham (4 pts for 3 ounces), white rice (which I didn’t eat) and a delicious greens recipe, Quick and Crunchy Collard Greens (1 pt,) that I also found on the Weight Watchers website.  We did have corn bread too (can’t skip the gold) but I only had a taste.

I had to tweek the recipe a bit because I didn’t go shopping for the ingredients until New Years Day.  I live in GA and it is just about impossible to get your hands on blackeyed peas in the South on New Years Day.  So, I was only able to find canned low sodium black eyed peas.  I rinsed the beans and added them to the onions and bacon.  Instead of the water I used some white wine and added the remaining ingredients (Except the rice and salt which I cooked and served separately. ) I let it all simmer for about 25 minutes and I have to say it was delicious!  The Bull loved it and the calves ignored it, which is their annual response to Hoppin’ John so it was not much of a surprise.

I give this recipe a hooves up and will make it again next year…..possibly even next week, if the shelves are restocked with black eyed peas by then.

Enjoy!

My Inner Bovine

 

Hoppin’ John

Image of black eyed peas
Weight Watchers Recipe
4PointsPlus Value
Prep time:  10 min
Cook time:  150 min
Serves: 6
Said to have originated on Southern plantations, this tasty side dish is a combination of bacon-infused black-eyed peas served with rice.

Ingredients

4 slice(s) uncooked Canadian-style bacon, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 small uncooked red onion(s), finely chopped (about 1 cup)
6 oz dry black-eyed peas, about 1 cup
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, or more to taste
1/8 tsp black pepper
3/4 cup(s) uncooked white rice, long grain-variety
1/2 tsp table salt

Instructions

  • Place a Dutch oven (a large, covered pot) over medium-high heat; add bacon and cook, stirring occasionally, until crisp, about 3 minutes. Remove bacon; set aside. Add onion to bacon drippings and cook, stirring frequently, until onion is translucent, about 5 minutes.
  • Sort through peas; discard any debris. Place peas in a colander in sink and rinse under cold water; add peas to Dutch oven. Add reserved bacon, red pepper, black pepper and 4 cups of water; bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to low and partially cover Dutch oven; simmer until peas are almost tender, about 2 hours. Stir in rice and salt. Cover completely and cook until rice and peas are tender, about 20 minutes. Yields about 3/4 cup per serving.

 

3 Comments on “Tasty Tuesday – Hoppin’ John Weight Watcher’s Style”

  1. Tammy says:

    Happy New Year! Thanks for stopping by my blog to say hi.

    I had Black Eyed Peas for the first time in my life this Christmas Eve. My step-mother prepared a recipe similar to yours minus the rice. My husband mentioned to my step-mother that the dish was similar to Hoppin John, but she had never heard of it. I liked the dish. If I can find Blacked Eyed Peas (never looked before), maybe I will give your recipe a try.

    Best wishes for a great 2012!

  2. Sharlie says:

    Thanks for the encouraging words on my blog..and the recepie sounds yummy..may have to try it. I decided yesterday to sign up for weight watchers online also, so Hopefully I will finally lose some of this weight!!


Leave a Reply

