Cheesecake Recipe for My Inner Bovine


In my last post I made my affinity for Cheesecake known.  Cheesecake is my kryptonite.  If I’m in the right mindset I can resist chips, I can resist cookies but it is physically impossible for me to say no to one three piece(s) of cheesecake.  I can eat cheesecake until I feel sick…so sick that I, Ima Bovine, never want to eat again…which is a rare state indeed.

So, I went trolling around the Weight Watcher’s website and look what I found….a recipe for Classic New York Style Cheesecake….I know, I know, I still can’t eat 3 pieces but at least I can have one piece guilt free!

Classic New York–Style Cheesecake

Weight Watchers Recipe

4PointsPlus Value

Prep time:  15 min

Cook time:  55 min

Serves: 24

To crush the graham crackers, place them in a large zip-close plastic bag, squeeze out the air, and seal the bag.

Ingredients

10 whole reduced-fat graham crackers, crushed to crumbs (about 1 1⁄2 cups)
1 Tbsp light corn syrup
1 Tbsp unsalted butter
2 cup(s) fat-free sour cream
1/4 cup(s) sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
16 oz low fat cream cheese, (Neufchâtel), softened
1 1/4 cup(s) sugar
2 large egg(s)
2 large egg white(s)
1 Tbsp lemon zest, grated (about 2 lemons)
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

  • Preheat the oven to 350°F. Spray a 10-inch springform pan with nonstick spray.
  • To make the crust, combine the crust ingredients in a small bowl until moistened. Press the crumb mixture firmly onto the bottom of the pan; refrigerate.
  • To make the topping, whisk together the topping ingredients in a medium bowl; cover and refrigerate.
  • To make the cake, with an electric mixer on medium speed, beat the cream cheese in a large bowl until very smooth, about 3 minutes. Gradually add the sugar, beating until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, until well blended. Beat in the egg whites, lemon zest and juice, and vanilla until blended.
  • Pour the batter over the crust. Bake until the edge of the cheesecake is set and the center jiggles slightly, 55 – 60 minutes. Let cool in the pan on a rack 15 minutes. Spoon the sour cream topping over the cake; spread evenly with a narrow metal spatula. Cover and refrigerate at least 8 hours or up to 2 days. Yields 1⁄24 of cake per serving.

Notes

  • Use a rolling pin or the bottom of a heavy saucepan to turn the crackers into fine crumbs.

On another note, I just received an email for with a great last minute gift idea that I figure other Bovines would enjoy…. At http://www.restaurant.com, you can save 90% on Restaurant Gift Certificates with the code JOY.   Pay $1 for a $25 certificate or pay $4 for $100

Moo Appetit!

My Inner Bovine

Leave a Reply

