My 5 Pounds Sticker!


I finally got my 5 pd sticker.  I have actually lost 5.6 pounds to be exact.  Not a major accomplishment for most, but for me pretty significant.  Not just because they announced it at the meeting, and everyone clapped (which made me feel good)  and I got to put a pretty sticker on my weight tracker thing, but because I have actually been meeting my 1 pd a week goal.  And if there is one thing I am most definitely not used to, it’s meeting any sort of weight loss goal.

I decided when I started this that I fail on every diet because my goals are unrealistic, then I get frustrated and then I quit.  So, I set myself up with a simple goal of 1 pd a week and you know what?  I have met that goal without any sort of dietary suffering.  With the exception of having to use tremendous will power over Halloween, I have not suffered much at all.  When I get hungry, I eat…okay I’m eating fruit…lots and lots of fuji apples and bananas…and not crap… so there is a little bit of suffering but I’m not starving and most importantly I’m not miserable.  Which bodes well for the Bull and the Calves who usually suffer as much as I do when I attempt to lose weight.

So, thus far, I am quite happy with my Weight Watchers progress.  And if I want to feel real proud, I think about all the things that weigh 5 pds that I am no longer carrying around on my body:

5 pound bag of sugar

 

Cute fuzzy puppy

 

 

5 lbs of potatoes

 

 

My personal favorite; a half gallon of milk (which is actually only 4+ pds but I’d be remiss not to include dairy)

and lets just take a look at what 5 pds of fat looks like – EEEK!

So there you have it…5 pds is actually quite a bit when you look at it this way.   I can’t wait until I can post what 10 pds looks like!

M O O,

My Inner Bovine

5 Comments on “My 5 Pounds Sticker!”

  1. Debbie says:

    Congratulations! You are right on track with your goals. The 5 pound examples are great. Have a great week.

  2. Shanny says:

    That is awesome, congrats on the achievement! It’ll start to snowball now, that first 5 is tricky!

    • Snowballing may be a bit too much to ask for but I’ll be happy if I just keep on keepin on. At the rate I’m going I should be at my goal weight by the year 2013 :)….perhaps I shouldn’t think about it that way! Thanks for the kind words.

  3. teresa says:

    Congratulations on 5.6 pounds!!! I love that you’re reminding me just how heavy 5 pounds is. Impossible to consider carrying, oh, 7 or 8 of those bags of sugar or potatoes on my body every day.
    So weird.
    I wonder if I’ll be able to fly without it. I think I’ll feel so light!
    You’re doing great and you’re on a roll.
    Keep going!!

  4. Even if you don’t make your goal until 2013 you have still accomplished something major. What’s a year or so compared to your whole life? I think the pound a week goal is super realistic. We don’t know each other (obviously), but as a person who has always struggled with weight and food issues, I’m so proud of you for going about it this way. Keep on keepin’ on!


Leave a Reply

