Chili Cook-Off Weight Watchers Style


This week-end I am going to a chili cook-off.   I am really looking forward to it.  I LOVE to cook almost as much as I love to eat and I can’t wait to cook up a batch of chili.

I am a also a pretty competitive Bovine and I have to admit I am determined to win.  I have an added agenda, I am not just determined to win but determined to win with a healthy, low cal recipe.

So, I’m going to make a weight watchers chili recipe.  This will even allow my Bovine self to actually eat at the party and stay on track.

I found the following recipe on the Weight Watchers website and am going to whip up a batch to take to the cook-off.  I think I’ll win…and if I don’t win, I’m going to blame Weight Watchers…I blame my diet for everything anyway.

Cincinnati Chicken Chili

Weight Watchers Recipe

by In One Pot, from Weight Watchers Publishing Group

150 people rated this recipe
Course: main meals
PointsPlus® Value:    5
Servings:  8
Preparation Time:  25 min
Cooking Time:  75 min
Level of Difficulty:  Easy

Spaghetti topped with chili is a kid and crowd pleaser. If you like your chili with a little more kick, use hot green chiles and hot salsa.

Ingredients

2 tsp canola oil
1 medium onion(s), chopped
1 medium green pepper(s), seeded and chopped
3 clove(s) (medium) garlic clove(s), chopped
4 oz chopped green chilies, canned, mild
6 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa
2 tsp Durkee ground cumin, or other brand
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp table salt
1 pound(s) uncooked extra lean ground chicken breast, skinless
14 1/2 oz canned diced tomatoes
1 cup(s) salsa, mild, chunky variety
8 oz canned tomato sauce
1 cup(s) water
1/2 pound(s) cooked spaghetti
1/2 cup(s) low-fat shredded cheddar cheese
2 medium scallion(s), thinly sliced

Instructions

  • Heat the oil in a large nonstick saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 6 minutes. Stir in the chiles, chili powder, cocoa, cumin, cinnamon, sugar, and salt. Cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add chicken and cook, breaking itup with a wooden spoon, until browned, about 8 minutes.
  • Add the tomatoes with their liquid, salsa, tomato sauce, and water; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, covered, until the flavors blend and the chili thickens slightly, about 1 hour.
  • Divide the spaghetti among 8 plates. Spoon the chili on top, then sprinkle with the cheese and scallions. Yields generous 1⁄2 cup spaghetti with 1 cup chili and 1 tablespoon cheese per serving.
M O O,
My Inner Bovine
Leave a Reply

