Seriously…Weight Watchers?


I received an email from Weight Watchers yesterday about surviving Halloween.  Naturally, I immediately clicked on the article because as you can probably guess this super bovine can consume an entire bag of Halloween miniatures in a single bound…they are miniatures after all.   After reading the article I can honestly tell you I am not feeling any better about my impending candy binge.

Here are their suggestions:

#1  “Everything in moderation.” Really? If I could do that I wouldn’t be fat in the first place.

#2  “Keep Count” – That is the worst idea I have heard all day.  Do you know how mortifying it is to see all those little wrappers piled up in front of you?  I suppose that’s the point but seriously who needs that drama?

#3  “Make a smarter choice” – Gee, I wish I had thought of that.  Let’s see Apple, Snickers Bar, Apple, Snickers Bar…..what is a Bovine going to choose?

#4 “Don’t throw in the towel” – I actually like this one because I do need the reminder.  As I mentioned in my last post, I tend to quit when I screw up.  In the immortal words of the beautiful Scarlett O’Hara-  “Tomorrow is another day.”  This should become my Bovine mantra.   I wonder if that would make Ms. Scarlett mad…to know that she is inspiration to a Bovine.

#5 “Rate Your Hunger”  – So hungry only chocolate can fill me up…after all, it’s Halloween.  That was easy.

#6  “Enlist reinforcements” – I’m thinking the calves will gladly eat all their candy before I can get my hooves on it but that will probably lead to all kinds of belly aches which I so can’t deal with and loads of hyper active calves which the Bull most definitely can’t deal with.  So we’re probably better off if I eat the candy….really, I’m taking one for the herd.

Perhaps the Weight Watchers tips for Halloween are not so helpful for me.  Maybe they’ll be more helpful for you.   You can check them out here…..http://www.weightwatchers.com/util/art/index_art.aspx?tabnum=1&art_id=10351&sc=3010
9 Comments on “Seriously…Weight Watchers?”

  1. J. says:

    I bring all the excess to work for my coworkers to eat. Well away from me. Makes me popular (ish) and gets it the heck away from me.

  2. teresa says:

    I love reading your thoughts! I feel such a kinship.
    I’m lucky that I could have a “no candy in this house policy”.
    I absolutely couldn’t do it with fun size anything around here.
    We’re going out to get our 4 year old Carob Raisins today. I like them, but find them highly resistable.
    This is my issue with Weight Watchers for myself. I can’t do moderation either.
    Again, you gave me such a good laugh this morning, reading your responses to the “tips.”
    I’m eating some treats on our Halloween (which is Saturday). And then right back on the next day.
    I find that if I plan to start the day with a cardio, sweaty workout it helps me set things to right.
    Otherwise I will immediately want chocolate for breakfast.

    • Thanks Teresa – it is always nice to know I have a partner in Bovine crime. This dieting thing is so tough. If I don’t laugh about it I swear I will go nuts. I can’t blame you for resisting carob raisins…even I could resist those…you know what are irresitable tho? Yogurt covered pretzels….Yum!

  3. emilyadamiani says:

    I agree with your opinion on #1 and #3!

  4. They make it sound so easy. They also make it sound like it won’t work.

  5. Shanny says:

    LOL to your last comment!

  6. Jason says:

    You’re right: those tips suck. 🙂

    It’s like telling a smoker that quitting is the same as smoking one or two a day.

    -j


Leave a Reply

