Patience is Not a Bovine Trait


I think the reason why I consistently fail on diets is because I’m inpatient.  I firmly believe that if I spend my day eating like a bunny rabbit I should be 10 pounds thinner the next day.. well at least 1 pound less.  An ounce…something.  It feels like a failure when I eat like a bird and the scale doesn’t move down or heaven forbid moves up!

I have heard all the reasons for why I shouldn’t weight myself each day but I do it anyway….you see, I’m inpatient.  I want to know how I’m doing.  I need feedback and I need it now.  When it’s negative feedback, I get mad, like a Bull with his balls tied.   Eventually I get mad enough, I eat a gallon of ice cream which does nothing to help me acheive my weightloss goals.

I am trying to be a bit saner this time and am following my friend Jason’s of 52 Weeks, 52 Pounds ( http://52weeks52pounds.wordpress.com) approach to dieting.  I am going to set my goal to one pound a week.  WeightWatchers says the average loss is 2 pds a week.  I’m thinking if I set the bar low, maybe I’ll achieve it.

Surely I can  lose 1 mere pound a week, right?

M O O,

My Inner Bovine

 

2 Comments on “Patience is Not a Bovine Trait”

  1. Jason says:

    The problem is you SHOULDN’T BE EATING LIKE A BUNNY RABBIT! 🙂

    My sister has had some really solid success on Weight Watchers, and she enjoys finding delicious recipes that use minimal points. Load the heck up on veggies since they aren’t any points, buy chicken breast in bulk, and indulge in some baked apples w/ cinnamon and a hint of sugar when you have a sweet craving.

    If you constantly feel deprived, you’re not eating enough. Bump up veggies and protein to help yourself feel more satisfied. Too large of a calorie deficit will be extremely detrimental, and you’ll just spiral out again.

    And for the love of Pete, throw that effing scale away! 🙂

    Good luck!
    -j

  2. teresa says:

    Yes, yes, yes you can!!!! How many years have I passed thinking “if only” i’d been satisfied with one pound a week…
    And it will probably be more on plenty of weeks.
    I agree with jason above also.
    I’m having really good luck on 1500 calories a day. Shocking to me. Lots of veggies and even fats. Just no starches.
    I go to bed full every night.
    I do weigh every day though.
    Even though I have your same problem… if it’s bad I lose my motivation all together. I keep thinking that it should scare me straight, but it doesn’t.


Leave a Reply

