Ooopsie….


I feel off the  no dairy/no sugar wagon Friday night, had a few bites of dairy and a whole lot of sugar.  We had some friends over for dinner and I just threw caution to the wind.  I didn’t feel like paying attention to every flippin’ bite I put in my mouth and ended up eating waaaaayyyyyy tooooooo much.  Moo.

I don’t want to call it a binge because it didn’t fall into that category of eating everything and anything and going into that mindless food consumption zone.   Instead this was more of  it looks so good, what will one bite hurt….and then another….and then another.    Imagine if you will….We are sitting around talking, desserts are on the table in front of us….I grab a small piece of one cookie ….a corner of a lemon square, …a bite of the cinnamon coffee cake….I should finish the cookie, it looks so sad being broken….the other corner of the lemon square, how bad can that be…if I just eat the nuts on the coffee cake….you see were this is going.

The next thing I knew I had consumed at least a 1000 calories of delicious, sugary crap.  The scale reflected that and I was up 4 pds the next morning…4pds in one day…that’s almost impressive if it wasn’t so pathetic and frustrating.

I was sort of half in half out yesterday.  I stayed away from dairy but had a little sugar….I feel better today, more able to eat healthy.  I am trying to rethink how I categorize food.  It is not good/bad but rather healthy/unhealthy.  Today, I am focusing on healthy and I am confident I can do it…..hooves crossed.

My struggling but trying really hard to be healthy both mentally and physically bovine,


8 Comments on “Ooopsie….”

  1. drmx18 says:

    For you yesterday it was sugar, for me… carbs. A trip to Brazilian BBQ and those wicked little cheese bread things too over. It’s amazing how you can tell your brain in the moment something is OK. Now, for you – you know that 4 pounds is not real. unless you are drastically under reporting the amount of calories that lemon bar had. It will feel fantastic for you tomorrow when, after eating well and drinking water today, all that fake weight falls off and you are back to where you were. :)

    • I hope you’re right. I have to tell you I was not surprised…I ate a good amount of olives stuffed with garlic and those puppies are salty! I have never been to a Brazilian BBQ – sounds like I should probably stay away!

      • drmx18 says:

        LOL- “salty meat on skewers” comes to your tables until you are rolled away, …and then there are little balls of gooey cheesy bready goodness. Stay far far far away. And stuffed olives are absurdly salty!!! Depending on how many of those little nuggets of love you had they could have derailed you faster than the lemon square!!! Amazing how salt just holds on to all water in your system!

  2. gloria says:

    I’m following you on facebook and networked blogs now:) Found you on mom bloggers. Hope you will follow me too. My blog is Gloria’s Bits and Pieces.

    http://kngmckellar-glorias.blogspot.com/

  3. free2bme123 says:

    Keep with it, we all have those days. Tomorrow is another day! Good luck ;)

  4. I think I could do no dairy, maybe but it seems like it is in everything, but sugar-thats my weekness :-( You are a very strong woman! I am following you and I liked your facebook page. Would super duper love it if you liekd my facebook back http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/7-Kids-and-Counting/186938351380062

    • If I were a strong bovine I would not be in this situation…but thanks. I have been more successful giving up dairy then sugar….sugar is tough. Ahhhh well. I am off to FB to like your page….7 kids???? really??? I”m crazy with 4!

    • If I were a strong bovine I would not be in this situation…but thanks. I have been more successful giving up dairy then sugar….sugar is tough. Ahhhh well. I am off to FB to like your page….7 kids???? really??? I”m crazy with 4!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers